Onboarding - The Service Rep's Process

Beyond makes onboarding new employees that enter your database from your Onboarding Portal easy by giving the service rep a convenient space on an employee record to process their online application and additional actions. Employees that begin an action in the Onboarding Portal can be given additional material or assigned a brand-new action within this space.



Security Permissions

To access the "Onboarding 2.0" tab within Beyond, you will need to be a member of a Security Group that contains the following permissions:

  • Can Assign HRCenter Workflows and Onboarding 2.0 Actions
  • Can Delete Onboarding 2.0 Actions

*Note* If you utilize custom Security Groups with Advanced Permissions, you will need to add the "Access" to the "Onboarding 2.0" pages within Employee > Onboarding 2.0 and Records > Onboarding 2.0 to the Security Groups that require the functionality:

For more information on created custom Security Groups with Advanced Permissions, please see the following article titled "Beyond - Creating Security Groups with Advanced Permissions".



Onboarding 2.0 Search

You can search on all employee and employer actions via the Onboarding 2.0 search via B menu > Records > Onboarding 2.0:

Within the Onboarding 2.0 search, you can utilize the following filters:

  • Status: Requires Action (Default), Completed, Expired
  • Assignee: Employee, Employer, None
  • Account: The organizations you have access to within the Onboarding Portal
  • Action Name: Forms that have been created within the Onboarding Portal
  • First Name: The first name of the employee record that has been assigned the action
  • Last Name: The last name of the employee record that has been assigned the action
  • Employee Branch: The branch of the employee record
  • Date Created (From): Date range in which the employee action has been created
  • Date Created (To): Date range in which the employee action has been created

Within the search results, you can expand any of the employee records to view a list of actions as they relate to the search criteria selected:

Selecting an action within the search results will navigate you directly to that actions record within Beyond, where you will have the ability to edit the action, or create a new action link to send directly to the employee:

*Note* Additionally, you are able to complete employer actions directly within the search results. This can be completed by selecting the icon to the right of the employee action:



The Onboarding 2.0 Tab

Once an employee record is created within Beyond, either manually or through registration within the Onboarding Portal, you have the ability to view, create, and edit employee actions directly on the employee record via the Onboarding 2.0 tab:

Within the Onboarding 2.0 tab, employee actions can have one of the following statuses:

  • Requires Action: The form needs to be completed either by a recruiter or an employee. The "Assignee" column indicates who is next to complete the form.
  • Expired: If an expiration date was set on the form, this status is shown when a form reaches its expiration date. The form will need to be resubmitted before an employee is able to complete the action.
  • Completed: The form has been completed. In order to make any changes to the completed form, a "Request Change" action must be created.

Within the "Action Name" column, this is where you will see a list of forms that have been assigned to the employee. Selecting a form within the list will navigate you to view additional details related to the form:

Selecting the "Fields" tab will show you the information the employee had entered within each of the fields present within the form:

*Note* Form fields including SSN's (Government Identification Numbers), etc. can be marked as "Sensitive" within the Onboarding Portal to mask the respective fields.




Assigning Employee Actions

Links can be created for employee actions via the following methods:

  • Create Link for all Employee Actions: For all forms that have already been assigned to the employee to complete
  • Assign Action: For new forms that need to be assigned to the employee to complete

Create Link for all Employee Actions

By selecting "Create Link for all Employee Actions", a new "Create Link" window will open, displaying the list of forms that have already been assigned to the employee:

It is within this window that you can select all of the forms within the list, or cater the list to what you need the employee to complete.

You can also select the "Locale" that will determine the language in which the forms are presented to the employee:

*Note* For more information on form localizations, please see the article titled Onboarding - Form Translations.

You can utilize the "Redirect URL" field to navigate the employee to the specified URL once the forms have been completed:

Once finished, select "Next" and then select "Create Link":

With the link created, select "Copy Link":

*Note* Once the link is copied, it will need to be sent to the employee for completion via email or text.

*Note* Optionally, you can select the to the right of the individual action within the Onboarding 2.0 list and select "Create Action Link" to open the "Create Link" window with that individual form selected from the list:

You can then proceed through the same steps as outlined above to create the action link and send to the employee to complete the form.

Assign Action

By selecting "Assign Action", a new window will open, allowing you the ability to assign new forms to the employee.

Within the "Assign Action" window, enter the following:

  • Form: The name of the form within the Onboarding Portal
  • Employer: The employer record within the Onboarding Portal
  • (Optional) Due Date: Set a date in which the action needs to be completed by the employee
  • (Optional) Expiration Date: Set a date in which the action will expire if not completed
  • (Optional) Deletion Allowed At: Set this to prevent an action from being deleted until the specified time
  • (Optional) Deletion Scheduled At: Set this to automatically delete the action at a specific time in the future

*Note* The same form is unable to be assigned twice.

Once the information has been entered, select "Submit" to assign the action to the employee:

At this point, the action will need to have a link created and sent to the employee for completion. This can be done via the "Create Action Link" option:

*Note* Actions can also be assigned via the "Onboarding 2.0" charm on the employee record:

Selecting "Assign Action" will navigate you through the same steps as outlined above.



Reviewing & Completing Actions

Depending on the action that has been submitted by the employee, it may require an employer action to be completed, such as the electronic signing of a form.

Employer actions can be completed via one of the following methods:

  • The "Start All Employer Actions" option:
  • The  icon to the right of the individual employee action:

Once one of the options has been selected, the service rep portion of the form(s) that you will need to complete will open directly within Beyond:

Once complete, you can select the back button in the top left corner or anywhere around the frame to close it:



Editing Actions & Requesting Changes

Once actions have been created, you have the ability to edit them or request the employee to make necessary changes before resubmitting.

Editing Actions

Actions can be edited by selecting the to the right of the action and selecting "Edit Action":

Within the "Edit Action" window, you can modify the following information:

  • Due Date: Set a date in which the action needs to be completed by the employee
  • Expiration Date: Set a date in which the action will expire if not completed
  • Deletion Allowed At: Set this to prevent an action from being deleted until the specified time
  • Deletion Scheduled At: Set this to automatically delete the action at a specific time in the future

Once the information has been entered, select "Save".

*Note* If you are a member of a Security Group that contains the "Can Delete Onboarding 2.0 Actions" permission, you can select the "Delete Action" option:

Please note that once an action is deleted, any submitted data from that action will also be deleted.

Requesting Changes

In the event an action has been submitted by the employee but, upon further review, you notice that the employee has filled out a form incorrectly; you can send a request to the employee to update the form for resubmission via the option to the right of the action and selecting "Request Change":

*Note* Selecting the "Request Change" option will open the "Action Change Request" window. This states that by selecting "Request Change", the form will be unlocked so that the employee can update the information and resubmit for approval:

Related Articles